AL Ohtani Shohei, NL Acuna Jr. unanimous MVP

AL Ohtani Shohei, NL Acuna Jr. unanimous MVP

On Sunday, the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA) announced that Los Angeles Angels pitcher Idoryu Ohtani received 30 first-place votes and 420 points to win his second career AL MVP award, surpassing Texas Rangers shortstop Corey Seager.

In doing so, Ohtani joins Mike Trout as the only two-time MVP winners in Angels franchise history. The outfielder won the AL MVP three times in his career, in 2014, 2016, and 2019. Ohtani was also a unanimous winner in 2021, edging out Toronto Blue Jays first baseman Vladimir Guerrero. Ohtani is the first player in MVP voting history to win multiple unanimous awards. It is his 12th career AL unanimous award.

Offensively, Ohtani led the league in five categories this year: batting .304-44 with 44 home runs and 85 RBI, slugging percentage of .412, on-base percentage of .654, OPS of 1.066, and total bases of 325. On the mound, he started 23 games and went 10-5 with a 3.14 ERA in 132 innings pitched. He struck out 167 batters.레모나토토

Texas World Series MVP Seager totaled 264 votes, including 24 second-place votes, while second baseman Marcus Simien earned 216. Seattle Mariners outfielder Julio Rodriguez received 197 and Houston Astros right fielder Kyle Tucker finished fourth and fifth with 178 votes.

The National League honors went to Atlanta Braves right fielder Ronald Acuna Jr. Acuna Jr. was also a unanimous winner. This is the first unanimous MVP in both leagues since 1931, when the Baseball Writers’ Association of America’s MVP was first announced.

He became the first player in MLB history to join the 40-70 club (41 home runs-73 doubles). He also batted .337 with a .416 on-base percentage (first), .596 slugging percentage and 1.012 OPS (first).

Atlanta Braves outfielder Ronald Acuna Jr. of the Hotazun tribe became the 19th player to win the National League Rookie of the Year award. AP

It’s the eighth time an Atlanta player has won the award. The last was Freddie Freeman (now of the Los Angeles Dodgers) in 2020. He is the third Venezuelan-born player to win the award, joining Jose Altuve (Houston Astros) and Miguel Cabrera (Detroit Tigers). It is the 19th time in his career that he has won the MVP award in addition to Rookie of the Year. Acuna Jr. was the 2018 NL Rookie of the Year.

The Dodgers’ Mookie Betts received all 30 second-place votes to finish second with 270, while teammate Freeman was third with 227. Atlanta first baseman Matt Olson received 223 votes and Arizona Diamondbacks rookie outfielder Corbin Carroll finished fourth and fifth with 165 votes.

Leave a Reply